Meeting over mental health provision

The Afallon mental health ward at Bronglais General Hospital has now been closed for over five months. I’m now getting increasingly concerned that there are no emergency beds available for mental health patients between the M4 and A55 corridors. Therefore, a few weeks ago, I raised this important issue directly with the First Minister at the Senedd, and asked him to intervene and request firm details from the Health Board about when it hopes to reinstate this much-needed service.

News about my exchange with Carwyn Jones AM has now reached the Hywel Dda Health Board, and a second meeting has been arranged for me to further discuss the situation with the Board’s Vice-Chair and Deputy Chief Executive in the New Year. I very much hope that they will be in a position to provide some good news by then.

Comments are closed.